Knitting: What kind of yarn for this scarf?

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Hi everyone! I'm very new to knitting, and hope to knit a black chunky scarf for this Fall/Winter. It's already getting warmer in California, but I figured I should start now and maybe I'll have it finished by fall :P

What kind of yarn should I use for this kind of chunky scarf? I would prefer something that's warm, and no synthetic materials such as acrylic. I would love to hear any suggestions, and where can I get a pattern for something similar to this? Please help! TIA!!:smile:

Picture courtesy of the lovely Garance Dore's blog

Attached Files:

2. an alpaca/wool blend?
    you just need thick needles for knitting chunky scarves. like size 17 :]
    and it'll be SO FAST! def cuts down on the time

3. I LOVE to knit...and have so many ideas for a scarf like this. You could really go with anything, depending on your price range. There are so, so many lovely yarns out there. Monotreme has a great idea with the alpaca/wool blend, it'll be super warm...just avoid alpaca (or knit something smaller and try it out on yourself first) if your skin is sensitive...I've heard of allergic reactions to mohair and alpaca. I tend to veer towards sensitive, but have had no problems with alpaca so far...I think it's just the yarns I've chosen. The scarf itself doesn't look like a bulky yarn to me...maybe the yarn was doubled? You could really do it either way.