Kiss clovers? How is this not copyright infringement?

I remember looking this up at some point re articles on VCA intellectual property claims
Originally the status seemed that VCA did not have copyright but regained it via foreign counsel . However, in the case against Heidi Klum, VCA admitted it had been refused by the US copyright office. (See bottom for the link to the klum case)
NOte: I just googled this stuff randomly; I have no knowledge of intellectual property law; perhaps another TPFer will come along to correct or refine this. ..

(https://www.springutlaw.com/45m-damages-award-against-knockoff-watches)
Quote:
Van Cleef & Arpels is a world famous fashion house, known as the “Jeweler to Royalty.” Among its successful products is its Alhambra jewelry line. First designed and introduced in 1968, in the last decade it has enjoyed a revival, with skyrocketing sales and abundant media exposure. But with success comes imitation – knockoff jewelry at all price levels became rampant.

Van Cleef had a copyright registration for the Alhambra design. However, when introduced in the United States in the late 1960s, the items in the line lacked a copyright notice. Under the law in effect at the time, that meant loss of copyright.

Our lawyers succeeded in establishing that Van Cleef was entitled to a restoration of the copyright under the little known Uruguay Rounds Agreement Act, which restored foreign copyrights in such situations. This required a detailed showing of the history of creation and publication of the work in the U.S. and abroad. Working with foreign counsel, our lawyers were able to make a compelling showing, and obtained a summary judgment ruling that Van Cleef owned a valid and subsisting copyright in the design.

But here are some other, more recent articles that invalidate the right

also, see, where there was a quick settlement with Heidi Klums company (if VCA felt its position was strong, then they would not have so quickly gone to settlement)