Just when I thought I was over Mulberry... Help sought!

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. So I was shopping yesterday and popped by the St Christophers Place store. Definitely didn't plan on buying anything, nothing has really grabbed me this season and I've been playing with the idea of a Chanel 2.55 so I thought I'd just browse (and start saving!!). Plans were thwarted as I came across a Somerset Drawstring bag in Oak - Love at first sight! (I am relatively new to Mulberry and had somehow had never come across it?)

So I had a little play and it's perfect - almost. I was slightly concerned about the drawstring as it didn't look very robust, especially with the leather quality these days, and also because I like the look of the bag when the string is pulled in fairly tight.

Anyone with this bag care to share their experience? I would be using it as a day-to-day bag and it would have to withstand overcrowded Tube trains, people brushing past and general London dirt/grime/weather!

How much babying does Oak require? I'm pretty good at this already as I tend to go for light coloured bags, but then I don't use them everyday...

Also, do the classics ever crop up in the outlets?

As always, I'd love to hear your thoughts!

2. Hi Missh, I have no experience of the bag you mention but I have had experience of 3 oak Mulberry bags - and although Oak works for many people, it doesn't work for me - rainspots were evident on my bags even when Collonilling them, and if I had the dedication to wear an oak bag in to give it the beautiful patina that oak bags get over long periods of use then I'm sure I'd have some pretty nice looking oak bags.