Just wanted to say thanks to the forum. I am a newbie to high-end bags...and

chigirl

Mar 20, 2006
so many of you have been so helpful. Scary though, because now I can convince myself that spending over $1000 on a bag is a good investment. My financial advisor is not convinced.

Well, in my opinion it's far better to save up to own a few extraordinary and exquisitly made leather goods than to spend LOTS of money on LOTS of stuff that won't last or that you'll tire of quickly. Don't forget that you probably carry a bag every day of your life in some way or another and when you look at the cost of that bag divided by the amount of time you use it, you'll probably find that it was a very good investment in the end.

Don't worry, just the sheer enjoyment you'll get when using that bag is totally worth it!

Welcome!
I'm guessing your financial advisor is a man?
Sorry, it's a hobby, not an appreciating asset. However, cars are always depreciating too and I know plently of people who buy some very expensive ones.
I am not a rich girl, but I love handbags. If there is a will there is a way.
If you are worried about cost, try buying Chanel classics or LV Speedy, something that you can carry from now until the end of time. Also, you can go with vintage bags or look for last years model. You would be surprised at what you might find.
Learn about how to spot scams on ebay and search for good slightly used bags-that's how I got a Kelly and believe it or not the girl at Hermes store helped verify it as well. The seller had it professionally cleaned by Hermes (and showed a copy of the receipt) so I was able to track it through the store that it had been cleaned at.
Also, forum members are selling bags all the time so if you go through paypal you can get a good bag for less. I just got a great Spy bag this way.