Is Tiffany silver a good "investment"?

Dec 24, 2012
[ Hi,
I'm interested in this Tiffany sterling silver cuff. I think it is very nice. I have no experience with sterling silver or Tiffany jewelry in general so I was not sure if this is "worth it". How is the resale value of Tiffany silver compared to gold or platinum? I am not buying to sell, but I like to have that option in case one day I needed to. Any tips would be greatly appreciated

Attachments

• IMG_1520.jpg
    IMG_1520.jpg
    36.5 KB · Views: 3,713
Unless you are buying a limited edition piece or something rare, I'd never buy Tiffany as an investment. If you were to resell you could get anything from 30% to 70% of the price you paid (depending on a range of factors, I'm being very generally there).

It's a gorgeous cuff, if you like it get it!! But definitely don't get it if you want to buy it as an investment.

Jewelry is never a good "investment" in the true sense. I love jewelry and I buy it for the pure pleasure of wearing it. That said, my recommendation is if you buy jewelry, I would suggest only buying branded pieces such as Tiffany, Cartier, Mikimoto, VCA.

Without a brand, jewelry is almost worth nothing if you try and resell it. A branded piece will hold its value a lot more. Yes, you pay more for a branded piece like Tiffany, but it is well worth it to know you have a special piece of jewelry and also for resale.

For silver pieces, I only buy Tiffany. I sold some old pieces which I no longer wear and there is always a buyer.

The cuff you posted is lovely. If you like bold cuffs, may I suggest the Bone Cuff? It is an iconic Tiffany piece.

I would definitely go with Tiffany. Oh, and keep the box, pouch, receipt, etc in case you wish to sell or pass it to a friend in the future who admires it.

Good luck!