Is exercising 2x/week better than not exercising at all?

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I posted this in the Weight Loss Challenge, but figured more people would see it here. . . .

I've been paying $110 per month for the past 2 years for a gym membership I don't use. It hurts to say that out loud.

I'm trying to convince myself to give it one more shot, but what's holding me back is I keep thinking that working out twice per week may not be any more useful than spending that 2 hours on the couch (or walking around a mall).

There is one class that I can tolerate without wanting to kill myself and that is my only shot. It is pointless to try to convince myself I'll do more. I've been on this planet for 47 years now, I am what I am. I've tried a gazillion different things to exercise and I just hate it all - indoor, outdoor, formal, not-formal, whatever.

Ironically I used to be a fitness instructor at the Y and a dancer (ballet and jazz) when I was in my 20's - and I went from that to hating every second of it.

So my question is this - is there any point/benefit to working out twice per week only (2 one hour cardio/strenghthening classes), or is that just pointless? If it's pointless I'm willing to accept my life as a couch (and mall) potato.

I would really appreciate hearing from anyone who has some expertise in the world of fitness. And trust me, I am aware of the benefits of exercise, yadda, yadda, yadda. I just want to know if there is a point in going twice per week or not. In my mind it's 3 x/wk or nothing, and nothing is what I've been doing.

THANKS!!