Is Black Nail Polish Unprofessional??

chodessa

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED
O.G.
Dec 30, 2006
I am a healthcare professional, work in a hospital...don't have any patient contact really....but I was wondering if black nail polish is considered unprofessional for the workplace...
I love the look for fall and winter and am not one who really cares what others think because I am ALWAYS appropriately dressed (more so than anyone else in the dept IMO).. I keep my nails pretty short because I love these dark colors and don't want to look like Morticia - plus it's not sterile to have my nails too long in my line of work...
I was in court last year (unrelated to my job) and had on black nail polish. My lawyer commented to me how he hated it, which I took to be a hint of inappropriateness in court... That made me think about how I am wearing it at the workplace too..
What's your opinion, is black nail polish mainstream enough to wear during the weekdays at work? (FYI - my work wardrobe is business casual...slacks and shoes)
Thanks for your opinions..

On the People's Court, the judge (can't remember her name) often wears dark purple (a little lighter than OPI Lincoln Park After Dark). My philosophy professor, who is also the dean of the law school, also wears dark colors.

Both look very professional, and I think that the dark nail polish makes them look modern and fashionable. I don't know about actual BLACK though. If you have very light skin, it might look a little bit Morticia.

Reactions: dotty8
Unless the job is in the fashion or music industry, I think it looks unprofessional. I like it and I like the way it works, but anyone who doesn't follow the trends isn't going to "get it." KWIM?

I think that black nail polish can look very professional if you keep your nails on the shorter side and if you work at a place that has a more forward-thinking environment.