I'm new to ebay!!!

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Nordstrom Spring Sale is now live! Serious savings on customer favorites - up to 40% off with free shipping and free returns. Shop the sale!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Hello ,

Please advise , i'm new to ebay and i have 2 old laptops and would like to sell but need your advice before doing anything .

1- for best price should i place an auction or normal item sell ?
    2- i'm going to use only my paypal to accept any payments ..... but still worried if the purchaser didn't like the laptop do you think if i'm using paypal do i still have a risk on my credit card ?

Thanks for your advice , i'm quite new here and really feel very worried about this topic .

Regards,

Watzmann

2. any advice ?

3. The electronics category is fraught with fraud. Even some of the most experienced sellers are targets of scammers but as a new seller, you will be a scammer magnet.

For items like old computers, my preference and recommendation would be to list them on Craigslist, meet at a public location, require any payment to be cash only and have the computers charged so the potential buyer can test it.

There should be no shipping, no checks, no bank wiring, NOTHING except meet in person and cash payment.

For a newbie to be selling old computers on ebay is looking for trouble, IMO.

Mimi_09 and SweetDaisy05 like this.
  4. ok, i'll listen to your advice , but could you please give me example of what could happen?

5. Easy... buyer could say they received an empty box, computer that doesn't work, any number of things. EBay favors the buyer in almost every dispute, so you'll lose your computers and your money.

SweetDaisy05 likes this.