I'm a COMPLETE newbie...

lizlikeshugs

Jun 11, 2006
Hi ladies!

So I know nothing about Hermes aside from what I saw on SATC and what I have seen in LA or Hawaii. I'm normally spending all my time in the Balenciaga section. But I was wondering if there is a style/cost reference (particularly for the Birkin bag) site somewhere so I can see what is out there and what to expect to spend ( I heard that the waiting lists are closed and usually takes at least a year anyway)

Also, how much would a used Birkin be if I do not buy brand new?

Thanks for all the help!:flowers:

go to the reference section :biggrin:

and you can usually score a birkin if you have a good sa that will inform you if one is on stock floor....

the prices do vary according to size and leather....

Ooohh!! Thank you!

Also, I keep looking at the Birkin and Kelly, are the handles the only difference? I know Kelly bags come in smaller sizes.

And are Togo leather bags the hardiest? I'm always afraid of ruining my bags and get super paranoid.

You can look on e-bay to get a feel as well for the sizes, colors, leathers -- and we have a post about recommended resellers which is a great way to get something, sometimes for less! Other times for more - depends what you want, and if you are willing to wait it out from the store. I've bought quite a few from wonderful resellers with great luck...

Togo is a very "hardy" leather and durable...some are moreso than others...the box leather and chamonix are smooth and not so great in wet weather...Look around and you'll find a lot of info!

Hi, also go to the 'shopping' section, I think we just had discussed prices recently.
It also depends on where you are based: Rest of the World is usually more expensive than Europe, or France.

Starting price for a Birkin is somewhere around $6800.
Keep in mind that *NEW* Birkins are generally marked up $2-4k when they are listed on ebay.