How to Clean Fabric Purse w/ Patent Leather Accents?

Apr 7, 2014
Michigan
Hi guys!

This is my first post :smile:

I'm a bit of a Coach newbie, but I am totally obsessed now that I have started buying a few, especially when you can get them at such great prices on eBay.

So, my question is this: I got a used blue Coach Poppy 3D Art Glam Tote (style #14983) & the fabric on it is dirty. It's a canvas like material, but the accents around the handles are aqua patent leather, and I am so afraid that in the process of getting the stains out of the fabric that I will ruin the patent leather trim.

My initial thought was to try OxiClean on the fabric (because that stuff is seriously a miracle worker) but I am so afraid that it will ruin the leather as I've heard of people having that issue.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

TheNordstrom Anniversary Saleis NOW open to ICON card members.Click or tap to shop the Nordstrom sale!
P.S. Don't forget to join the activeNAS 2020 thread.
Apr 7, 2014
Michigan
I'm in the kitchen now taking soap and water to the handles with a toothbrush. It's quite effective actually! And, according to Coach, soap & water won't hurt patent leather.

There is just very very faint brown on the handles now (much less than in the before pics) & so I'm going to take OxiClean to it very sparingly and try my best to avoid the leather parts, which shouldn't be too hard such I used to soap & water to do the majority of the hard work.

Apr 7, 2014
Michigan
The cleaning is finished. I guess it's a good thing I was willing to take risks on my $50 purse, since nobody else had any advice to contribute.