HELP! What is the ideal shoe collection? Must haves?

Jun 18, 2012
On TPF we talk a lot about what every woman "must have" in her handbag wardrobe. Lots of great suggestions come up but usually, there is a lot of agreement on what types of bags it's good to own (even if we disagree a bit on model or brand).

Well, I need that help for shoes! I'm a designer shoe newbie. My collection (ha!) of shoes is a train wreck of bad decisions and broken dreams. :lol: So, I'd love to hear from the experts what shoes are the "must haves" for a well curated, capsule (say 10-15 pair), premier designer shoe collection. And, if you're feeling frisky, please also share your opinions on where to go from there - say to build me up to a 30-50 pair collection where I can rotate some in and out each year.

A little about me and my style. I'm a busy business exec who travels so, some should be work appropriate heels of 2-3". But, I also go out quite a bit! So, I love and need pretty strappy 4-5" heels too. A few pretty, easy to walk in wedge or flat sandals and shoes would be a nice add but, they have to be super cute! I will NOT be uncomfortable in my shoes so, extreme pointy toes or brands known to be beautiful but killer are OUT! My style is the classic end of glam with a little bit of an edge. Being fashionable (but not trendy) but, not looking like everyone else is important to me. I like interesting architectural elements, black, white, grey neutrals, rich jewel tones, metallics (yes!) and yummy materials.

So, please help me create a great shoe collection! What are the 10-15 must haves including both style and brand? Thanks in advance! I can't wait to see the suggestions and pictures! :nuts:

I think a good start would be to stroll through some of these dot com sites for an overview ( NM, SFA, BG, Nordies, Barney's, Net a Porter, Yoox (which has shoes from previous collections & could be an unexpected find here or there)