Workplace Help! Questions about internal mobility

baobei

O.G.
Aug 20, 2006
San Francisco
Hi fellow TPF'ers!
Would love to hear your thoughts and advice on my question regarding internal mobility. I always value your thoughts on the various issues that get posted out here.

I currently work in a entry-level merchandise planning role for a rather large company and have been here for 1 year. Although, I am fairly new to merchandise planning, I find it challenging and have learned a ton. But I feel like it's just not for me and would love to go back to doing something more creative. I initially took on the merchandise planning role to learn about the business/finance side of this industry and develop stronger financial acumen. Also the manager who hired me at the time was a joy to work with. However 2 months into my new role - the team gets a new manager who is just absolutely terrible to work with and doesnt have any managerial experience.

So just recently, I was exploring our internal job database and came across a position in product development which totally peaked my interest and would LOVE to apply for since I have an educational background in product development as well as previous work experience and I actually meet the minimum qualifications. However, before I apply - i would need my manager to fill out a reference form and also give me a verbal agreement that she supports my decision.

However, I'm a little nervous about having this conversation with my manager since I feel like we dont have the "best" relationship. I feel like I am walking on eggshells here. I mean how would I even start that conversation? I don't want to be caught in a catch-22 situation where she thinks I am not suited for this new role and writes me a unfavorable recommendation, so that I wouldn't even have a chance and now she knows that I'm not all that interested in my job.

What would you do in my place and how would you bring this up?