Workplace Help me think about potential second career options :)

Aug 20, 2006
Hello folks!
So, I thought I'd throw this out there for fun!
:smile:
Background:
I've got an undergraduate degree in English and Political Studies. I have a bachelors of education as well. I am currently a high school teacher. I'm very dynamic, engaging and I've got a great personality. I'm successful as an educator and well liked among my students.

I was hoping to have a child, but unfortunately, the likelihood of this happening isn't very high anymore (ivf etc etc).
So, instead of crying and feeling terrible for myself, I want to find new goals. I want to become more successful and find further gains through my job = more money, prestige, fun etc. When all of my colleagues and peers continue to go on and on about their children, I want to be able to think about my vacations, my fun adventures etc which requires a bit more cash than what I make currently.

Initially, I was going to go back to school and get a master's of education and perhaps a phd one day. I envision myself being a consultant, or if anything, being more attractive in various educational fields if I had to move.

However, instead of sinking time and money into something that may not be as fruitful, perhaps you guys might have some other ideas about what might be some great second careers to get into right now.

Another big goal of mine is to try and learn Mandarin - I know it sounds crazy! I want to be as fluent as possible. One of my small goals is I want to be hired at Van Cleef and Arpel or a high end jeweler. I love jewelry and I think I'd do well. The problem is that I think you need to practice around 5 hours a day = 2200 hours to be fluent. I'm willing to put in as much time per day as possible - taking weekends off. I want to throw myself into productive and meaningful advancements like learning new languages!

Any feedback would be wonderful!