Help Me Pick a Wedding Dress!

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. my SO and i are planning to marry/elope this winter. we're just doing a civil ceremony in a courthouse, and we're undecided if we'll have receptions in the future for family and friends. i'm undecided on what kind of dress i should go with- short or long. i feel like a long dress is unnecessary and will look silly for a courthouse wedding, and since we're not marrying in the states, i need something that will also be easy to travel with. and of course, i don't want to spend a lot of money on a dress that will never be worn again, and i'm a college student so the wedding budget is not big.

my first thoughts are to either go with:

1) a short dress (maybe an ivory cocktail dress with beading or some type of embellishment)

2) a long wedding dress from jcrew (for $500 plus whatever is needed in alterations)

any opinions on long vs short? or any suggestions for particular dresses?

2. Yes I think short would be more appropriate. But it's your wedding day, grandiose or not you should wear what makes you feel the most beautiful in. Congrats on the upcoming nuptials!

3. Go for a short dress! I think a long dress wouldn't be appropriate. Then you can go to dinner some some close family and friends and feel comfortable!

4. I don't really think that a long dress is "inappropriate" or "silly" for a courthouse wedding. It's more about personal style. If you prefer a long dress, wear it. Otherwise, pick a short dress.

5. thanks for the opinions ladies.