Help Me Pick a Wedding Dress!

afsweet

O.G.
Aug 7, 2008
my SO and i are planning to marry/elope this winter. we're just doing a civil ceremony in a courthouse, and we're undecided if we'll have receptions in the future for family and friends. i'm undecided on what kind of dress i should go with- short or long. i feel like a long dress is unnecessary and will look silly for a courthouse wedding, and since we're not marrying in the states, i need something that will also be easy to travel with. and of course, i don't want to spend a lot of money on a dress that will never be worn again, and i'm a college student so the wedding budget is not big.

my first thoughts are to either go with:

1) a short dress (maybe an ivory cocktail dress with beading or some type of embellishment)

2) a long wedding dress from jcrew (for $500 plus whatever is needed in alterations)

any opinions on long vs short? or any suggestions for particular dresses?

Yes I think short would be more appropriate. But it's your wedding day, grandiose or not you should wear what makes you feel the most beautiful in. Congrats on the upcoming nuptials!

I don't really think that a long dress is "inappropriate" or "silly" for a courthouse wedding. It's more about personal style. If you prefer a long dress, wear it. Otherwise, pick a short dress.

thanks for the opinions ladies.

i do feel more comfortable in a short dress (i guess since that's what i'm most used to). i just wasn't sure if people basically think a wedding dress should always be the long, traditional kind.

Have you checked out dresses at ASOS.com?

http://www.asos.com/Women/Dresses/Cat/pgecategory.aspx?cid=8799#state=Rf-200%3D5&parentID=Rf-200&pge=0&pgeSize=20&sort=-1

You could wear any of them again and just focus on accessorizing :smile: