Help! Just received bag... not sure if I'm happy (warning: Picture heavy!!)

annaes

Jun 26, 2008
NY
Hi ladies! :smile: I'm relatively new to both TPF and the Balenciaga forum in particular, but thought I would post for some advice. So, I just received an authentic gray 06 city from a seller on ebay and the color is faded and quite a bit more worn than expected. I'm not looking to open a dispute with the seller, she has been wonderful, and offered a return with a full refund in the next 7 days (plus I got the bag for an absolute STEAL!), but I just want to know if this is normal wear for an 06 bag.

The sealant is majorly cracking by the main zipper and the leather is scuffed off the edges at the front bottom corners. The handles have warmed, but that's pretty normal, right? Tassles aren't split, which is nice, but she provided the extras in any event. The leather overall is a bit dirty. I took it to a professional leather repair store nearby (who just happens to work on Balenciagas for Saks on a regular basis) and they said the leather is too fragile from wear and tear and can't be cleaned except by shipping it off to LMB. The LMB luxury cleanser plus (which I took to show the guy at the leather repair store), he said, will just darken the bag at this point since it is essentially unfinished leather (all the finish is worn off). However, I'm one of those who LOVES the smooshy worn look of leather on some Balenciagas, and this one is definitely not smooth, which is great for me, so I'm reluctant to give it up!

So, what do you think? Is this acceptable/normal wear, or would you return it and keep looking and hope to find another great deal?
(sorry for the huge photos, they refused to upload as attachments!)

^^^ For color comparison ^^^^

pookster

Jun 21, 2009
I love this color, but wow, that is too much wear for me. It is just too worn out for me and too used for me to enjoy. But that is only my opinion and my preference. I would have to return this one.

meganka