Help again with nanny

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I have mentioned I have had some nanny issues in the past. My husband and I are now considering getting a live in nanny. My current nanny who I thought was great, just told me she must have all the federal holidays off. She feels it's unfair for her to work on federal holidays when the other nannies have it off. I have explained to her multiple times that I work in a hospital and that I work holidays. I told her the day after thanksgiving, mlk day, and president's day are not considered hospital holidays so she can't have those off. To compensate, I gave her 6 other days off paid in addition to her 3 weeks she gets off for vacation. She is on vacation this week and sent me an email saying she thinks it's unfair that she has to work holidays when the other nannies are off. She took mlk day as an unpaid day off becuase my mother was in town. I had to work that day, and my mother agreed to watch the baby. She had gotten three days off the week before.
    My problem is that she may have to work other holidays because I may be on call. I don't understand why it's so hard for her work a holiday and in return get another day off. I am worried that she spends all her time chit chatting with the nannies instead of taking care of my child.
    When we interviewed her we told her we needed someone flexible since I am a physician and take call. I also told her I would not get all the holidays off butbwould never make her work a holiday that I was not working.