Handbags and Snow

SonOz

Nov 3, 2007
Not sure if this is the correct place to post this, but I just moved to Chicago two days ago and its snowed today! What do you do with your nice bags in regards to the snow? I have a leather bag and it got all wet. Do you just carry bags that aren't so nice or will the wetness not mess with the bag much?

I live in a Chicago suburb.

Honestly, I just carry the bags, snow or not. They are usually durable enough to withstand a little moisture. I'm more worried about my shoes, to be quite honest. :shame:

Hi ! I'm a native Houstonian but I go to school in Chicago ! Most of my bags are canvas and they really hold up in snowy weather ! I carried my Coach Carly today and it was perfect !

Welcome to Chicago!! A great, fun town!!! SO Okay I'm no expert but I agree bags are to be enjoyed but be a little smart about it. If you don't carry a bag due to snow, that's a long time to not carry a bag- at least on my-the opposite-side of the Lake which is prime lake effect territory and it can snow daily here for weeks on end, if the tempature of the air and the water is right!!That being said I chose not carry my brand new Rebecca Minkoff MA today but will bring it out later. I think you have to be smart about it and spray a water protectant generously if possible. Also I have learned from this forum alot of women carry a spare plastic bag for these sorts of emergencies! A great use for recycling/reuse those horrid plastic bags from the grocery store! But at some point you will just have to go for it and Enjoy!! Otherwise you will never enjoy the bag except for those few and WAY too far between beautiful days!

Thank you so much for all the advice! I was worried about it today when we were apartment hunting.

Bhalpop...lake effect territory?? Do you mean downtown? We are looking at apts in the gold coast area..will it snow a lot? I am new to the snow..I almost went flying off my feet today!