From Brown To Red To Blonde..How Long?

Coldplaylover

Mar 8, 2006
How long should you wait between foils if you are doing a major color change? I had all over color dark auburn hair and just did a foil to lighten up so now it is an orangy blonde....how long must I wait to go back and take it to the next level so it is more of a golden blonde?

Hi! Well, I'm no expert but I've heard they recommend at least a month between hair colourings to avoid damaging it. Otherwise you'll end up with over-processed hair like myself, and it's not a pretty sight hehe.
I'd love to read more opinions though. I'm just repeating what I heard before, and it could vary depending on what you're getting done. Good luck!

hey coldplaylover .. i'm a hair stylist, and i probably could have gotten you more of that golden blonde you were looking for in the first place .. you definitely don't want to have to continue to go back and lighten and lighten each time, it's far more harsh on the hair .. i would wait at least 6 weeks tho .. and continue to take real good care of your hair .. you don't want damaged looking golden hilites .. =) good luck!

hey coldplaylover .. i'm a hair stylist, and i probably could have gotten you more of that golden blonde you were looking for in the first place .. you definitely don't want to have to continue to go back and lighten and lighten each time, it's far more harsh on the hair .. i would wait at least 6 weeks tho .. and continue to take real good care of your hair .. you don't want damaged looking golden hilites .. =) good luck!

Are you positive that's the right way to do it? I heard that you're supposed to do installments to get a more natural look.