Foundation causing burning eyes and under-eye area. Suggestions!

Crystalina

O.G.
Mar 22, 2007
Hello, everyone!

I am looking for suggestions or recommendations here, as I don't know what else to try.

For a long time I was a Clinique fan, until about a year ago. I realized that their foundations were burning my eyes. I used to wear their ''Perfectly Real'' liquid foundation (and applied it like a concealer too), only to find my eyeballs were bright red. *sigh*

I immediately got myself to Sephora to try more natural brands, like Korres as well as some more ''main-stream'' brands like Make Up Forever and Lancome. Again, bright red, sore, itchy eyes. So bad, in fact, that I had to see the eye doctor, who gave me a 2 week prescription of steroid eyedrops.

I've gone to whole foods and tried ZuZu luxe and Gabriel makeup lines---a/k/a FUNERAL PARLOR MAKEUP.

I don't know what else to do. I am a teacher and I have to go back to school in a little over 4 weeks. I have to figure this out.

My sister recommended the Cover Girl Simply Ageless which I LOVED, except for the fact that it ALSO burned my eyes! :cry:

Does anyone have any brand suggestions? I am desperate and don't know what else to try!

TIA!

I have a perspective.

A lot of foundation burns my eyes if I get it too close to the eye socket or put it on my lid, along with several liquid concealers and most liquid eye shadow primers (I'm talking to you MAC and Urban Decay). I take care to keep the foundation far away from my eyes, although Clinique's new Stay Matte doesn't irritate me at all.

For the rest, I have had better luck with cream concealers/eye primers. Although Laura Mercier's and Trish McEvoy's eye basics/primers don't irritate me.