Flaking lining on vintage .. will it ever stop????

Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Hi .. I am new to TPF, with this wonderful blue leather vintage Gucci .. the leather lining is flaking madly, an endless cloud of flakes. I was thinking, ok I got a good deal, I will pay to re-line it. Then I thought ... WAIT, eventually all the leather glazing (is that what flakes off?) will be gone and it will stop ... (or will it?)
    Or can I gently brush the rest off?
    Oh experienced Gucci people .. what have you done about this?
    Thanks!

2. [​IMG]

3. In my experience it really depends on how much you are plannning on carrying your vintage bag. If it is an everyday bag I would suggest relining it so that you don't have to worry about the flakes. I have gotten a couple of my bags relined because I just hate the flaking....it's really annoying to me! I'm happier now that I don't have to worry about it. Hope that helps a little.

4. I would not worry about it so much unless you plan on carrying it forever. Most vintage bags have this and it is annoying but I would not spend that much relining a bag unless it will be used very often.

5. Thanks for ideas .. ya I am thinking of using it a lot .. so beautiful and 'experienced', perfect size 9x12, great for jeans etc. I'll get the $$ estimate for relining.

6. i'm also curious to hear what's the range for re-lining. have a vintage from late 70s/early 80s & while it's in great condition inside & outer canvas...the leather seems to have the same issues as mentioned.

7. Someone on a board said $200ish .. I am sending this to Gucci service place and will post when I find out how much.

8. Received the evaluation back from Gucci Service ... the relining of the navy bag will be $260 .. ow!
    I am going to do it. I really like that bag.