Experiences with staffing agencies?

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Has anyone used staffing agencies for jobs? Not temp work.

Just wanted to know the pros and cons of using one. Thanks!

2. I've had friends who had good luck with them in the IT field. I know my brother (he's an accountant) used one successfully when he moved to a new state.

I didn't have as much luck when I was looking for a new job in the bio-research field. I've been on both sides - when I sought out the staffers, they kind of ignored me and pointed me in the direction of expensive classes and tests I should take to make me more desirable to the companies they hired for (I have a bachelor's degree from a very good school, and had many years of experience in the field - I don't need anymore paid schooling, thankyouverymuch). In the case where I was contacted directly by recruiting agencies, they never listened to what I wanted in a job and with one company I was sent on a time-wasting interview, as the research was in a field I expressly told the recruiter I would not consider working in again. Another company that had contacted me had a very car salesman, say whatever you want to hear just sign on the dotted line type recruiter. The more details I asked about the job the more annoyed he got and the more pressure he put on me to try to get me to quit my current job before receiving an official offer from the company he had a contract through.