Duty and Tax for International shopping {VAT refund}

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. hi everyone:

I am new in TPF, I have been saving for my first chanel for a while,
    so now it is the time for me to get one but the price in CANADA is tooooooo hign, since British Pound is going down, I am thinking to buy one classic flap from UK,
    I live in CANADA, I would like to know if anyone have ever order from UK and how the duty and tax will be.

thanks
    happy new year

ThisLilyPetal likes this.
  2. I just did order from the UK and they deducted the complete VAT. Regarding customs duty, that depends how much Canada charges for incoming goods.

3. dear la vanguardia, may I know which boutique you called and how much you got the bag for?

4. I am in USA and I also want to order a classic flap from UK but I don't how to make international order. I tried to search for an answer but still have no clue. :confused1: Anyone in USA order from UK before? Also, anyone know what is the current price for a jumbo flap in UK now? :smile:

Sorry, I got so many questions because I am still a Chanel newbie. :P

5. You have to calculate the shipping costs too... and convert to CAD... I'm curious how much you'll save.

6. Umm, I'm no expert, but bringing anything in from outside Canada, customs would convert ur purchase amount @ the day's exchange rate and get a Canadian $ value. Than use that to add on duties and customs. U're looking @ 25%-30% +. So really, I can't see u saving too much.
    But if you do, be sure to let us know! I'd love to add a Jumbo Caviar to my collection too!! GL!!!

7. i ordered a bag fr uk last month, the postage was about cad$150 for a 2.55 size 226.