Do's and Don'ts with an SA

kim_mac

O.G.
Feb 27, 2007
As a few of you know, I'm a Hermes newbie. I'm in that phase where I'm spending hours a day reading threads, thinking of new color/leather/hardware combos for my very first Hermes bag (birkin or kelly?). A person can only do so much reading before venturing out to the boutique. DH and I are going to Hermes SF this weekend to check out the colors/leathers firsthand, and more importantly begin that special relationship with an SA. I bought a scarf there a couple of months ago, but I'm not sure the SA will recognize me.

Any advice, standards of conduct, things that are NO-NOs, what to do, what not to do with forming this relationship? Do I always have to buy something each time I visit? Can I ask him if there are birkins/kellys to view? Can I ask to see the leatherbook? Can I ask him if it's possible to "request" a bag (SO)? Can I ask him "What's the best way to get a bag?"

All I can say is best of luck to you with the SF store, you will need it. I have yet to see their leatherbook. Even though I have absolutely no problems with seeing the leatherbook from other Hermes stores I have been to. The SO list is closed in SF. I believe even Shopmom couldn’t SO a bag there, unless it has changed. I find that the women SAs there are nicer than the male ones, if that helps any.

I am sure if you are a super VIP, things might be different. But I am not one and never will be either. I don’t mean to put a damper on things but that’s the reality, at least for me.

I've only been to the SF store a few times (I went by myself to begin with and then REALLY got to know the place with SoCal, Mom of Twins, CB, and The Real Louis for a tPFer meet). So far, I've had nothing but good times at the store. I'm not in the market for a bag yet (and told them so) but, they are happy to show me scarves and bracelets all day (and after I ran off with three of them in a month, they let me play with some bags behind the counter).