Workplace Does anyone work from home? What do you do?

In my previous job, I had the option to work from home but preferred going into the office most days. I was technical recruiter for an agency that had numerous top telecommunications clients in the US.

From what I saw, there are a lot of work from home recruiter opportunities out there.

What are her skills, experience and work background?

I'm a consultant and my employer's consulting staff work from home except when required to be on site at a client's workplace, which varies by client. Sometimes it's never and sometimes it's 4-5 days/week for part of the duration of the project. My colleagues and I have a minimum of 10-15 years of work experience in our specialization so that's how our telecommuting is successful for our employer and clients. We're not doing a whole lot of continuous learning on the job.

Agree with xikry5talix above that there are many telecommuting jobs available for recruiters and sourcers (those who perform detailed online searches to identify potential candidates for jobs and usually are not involved with talking with candidates). But most of these positions require prior work experience in the field first.

There are also a few threads in this section on work from home opportunities. Customer call center work seems to also offer work from home opportunities. Things like customer service, airline reservations, travel sales. Also listed was mystery shopping but I don't know how lucrative that can be overall.

There are scams out there that require money up front and don't deliver job lists or leads so she should watch out for these.

I am a junior member in a management and tech consulting firm, and we normally work on client site when on projects, but since my client is located far away from the city, I have the option of working remotely from the office or at home.