Do you play a string instrument?

Nov 12, 2006
I don't know how many responses I'll get out of this thread, but thought it would be fun to try. Do you play a string instrument? Tell me about your instrument (what it is, where you got it, it's history) and bow! Also, studying music, for fun or playing professionally?

I'll start, I'm studying violin performance in San Francisco and I'm going to graduate this spring after I do my recital :sweatdrop: after that, I'm not sure if I'll really play any more. My violin is a Collin-Mezin, France, 1907 that I acquired in Berkeley and an Arcus bow that I love to death.

I would love to know if there are any more string players out there on the forum!

Unfortunately, I do not. :crybaby:BUT I can appreciate your talent!!! Wow. I have no words to describe my appreciation for the music you perform...heavenly!!! Thank you!!!!

I play acoustic guitar (I really need to play more). I bought it at a pawn shop for $50.00 they wanted $75.00 but was only taking cash that day and all I had on me was 50 so I got it for that price.

After seeing John Mayer and Josh Rouse in concert it really made me wanna play guitar more. If I could form a band I would but I'm to old to do that now.

I play the harp. I've played since I was 14 (and I'm 27 now).

My parents bought a Lyon & Healy lever harp for me 10 years ago, when I was 16. It was such a neat experience- we had to order it and wait a few months while it was built and shipped! My harp is now over 10 years old, but it will always be "new" to me.

This is what my harp looks like:

http://www.lyonhealy.com/lever-prelude.htm

Only it's in a nice rich mahogany color.

I've unfortunately neglected my practice over the past few years, but I hope to take it up again. I moved and am now looking for a new harp teacher to help me re-string and get playing again. It's a big goal of mine- I miss playing it! We'll see.

I also play the piano. I keep nagging Husband for a baby grand. :graucho: