do you color your own hair?

sdkitty

O.G.
Jan 16, 2006
I've been doing my own color for several years. I've got it down to where it's a really nice auburn color and I get lots of compliments on my hair.
We've just moved to a house that we totally remodeled. First time I needed to do my roots I found I was really nervous about getting color in the tub or on the sink or floor. Also didn't want to rinse my bottle in the new kitchen sink.

So I asked my hairdresser what she would charge to do my roots. She wants $100 and I'd need to go minimum every 4-6 weeks.

My DH wants to set me up with a hair color station in the garage. Hang a mirror over the sink and install a spray thingie. I was going to reject that idea and go to the salon but I got tons of compliments on my hair last week. So I'm thinking if my hair isn't going to look significantly better and it's only the mess, maybe I should find a way to keep doing it myself.

Any suggestions on doing home color and not damaging the home?

I remodeled my bathroom before dying my MIL's hair and I was super nervous because my MIL does not have good eyesight and I knew she would get the dye everywhere. As soon as she finished rinsing it out, I went in the bathroom and cleaned up. No problem.

I've colored at home for 20+ years. Before I start coloring, I remove any textiles from the bathroom - roll up my bathroom rug, take down the shower curtain. I also have a supply of old ratty towels that I use to line the bathroom with. I lay them over the floor, counter, let hang down over white cabinet fronts - basically any surfaces I'm concerned about. It's a little bit of a process, but honestly probably only takes me 5-10 minutes and it's worth it to avoid any stains.

The lady who shampooed me last time at my salon told me she rinses her color outside with a hose when the weather cooperates. LOL.

I think your hubby's garage idea is great, though!

Reactions: ColdSteel