Do I have a problem?

shopoholica

Aug 5, 2014
Hi fellow Purseforum-ers,

I have been thinking about my shopping habits lately, and I am starting to feel as though I've developed some really unhealthy habits. So a little background: I grew up in a family where my dad was really frugal, but my mom loved shopping (especially sale shopping), although she always shopped in moderation and only bought things when they were great deals. I never really liked shopping all through my teenage years, until I got my first Tiffany's item at 18. And since then, I've been spending a huge amount of money on jewelry and watches (mostly in high-end jewelry stores), and I would justify my spending, saying things like "it's an investment". To give you guys an idea: one year I spent over 60K on jewelry and watches, which I can't really justify at all, since I am a phD student, and am not raking in a ton of money. I am not going in debt since I do work a lot, but I do feel kind of bad that I don't have much in my savings. So I started to shop through another outlet: namely, skin care items. I became VIB Rouge in Sephora after 3 months of shopping, buying mostly skincare items. I thought it was normal since I never really had a skin care regime until this summer, but the other day I looked at all my products, and I haven't used up a single cleanser yet, and I have 4 different ones lined up on my vanity. I never thought I had a problem until now, since I never really shopped until I was in my late teens, early 20s, but now I truly think I have a shopping addiction. I don't buy compulsively (with the exception of 2 jewelry items and some sephora products), and I am not going in debt, and I know that I am a god-send for companies who want to take advantage of consumers like me. I understand all of this. But I shop so much: every time I am stressed, or something bad happens, I can't deal with the emotions and I go shopping to escape the stress, and I don't feel happy unless I am shopping. I do