Do B-Bags last forever?

asin

as in asian
Mar 11, 2008
Singapore
www.whowhatwear.com
I'm new to this brand and am thinking of making a purchase. But before spending over a thousand dollars on a bag I was wondering if the bag has good enough quality that it'll last a long, long time, so that it'll still be looking good if I'm carrying it when I'm 60:nuts: Also, does it have good resell value? I just want to make sure that it'll be a worthwhile purchase, because B-bags aren't as big as other designers like Chanel and Prada, which I know will hold value for a long long time, making them worthwhile to purchase in that respect. Thanks for the help ladies!

beauxgoris

O.G.
Mar 17, 2006
I think nothing will last as long as a classic Chanel flap. That being said I've used my black city for 3 years and love it even more than when she first arrived.

quilter

Sep 6, 2007
www.pennysisto.com
Asin,( speaking as a 60++++++ )..yes yes and yes..they do last, they do get mellower and more beautiful, and yes the resale value is pretty good..Welcome to the Bal Forum..

esiders

wishing and hoping
O.G.
Nov 2, 2005
northern NJ
Balenciaga as a brand is as old as Chanel and Prada, so I would say yes it has the staying power of those brands.

The motorcycle line has been going strong since 2001...can you say that about any other handbag line/style that was introduced in 2001? I can think if many other handbag lines that have gone the way of the dodo or were super hot and are not anymore. Most of us buy Bbags because we love the style...not because of potential staying power or resale value. You can't predict the way the wind is going to blow with the fashion industry.

If you are looking for a surefire "I will carry this bag until I'm 60"...buy a Chanel 2.55 or an LV Speedy. Both of those bags have been around for decades.

Jan 29, 2006