Discussing Racial Issues with a Teen

Staci_W

Apr 19, 2013
Where the grass is greener
My son is 15. He is white. We live in a very white state. When I graduated highschool, there was one black girl in my class of 450. My son does not have any black classmates.

Yesterday, I brought up the protests to him. Surprisingly, he was very opinionated on it. "Cops aren't racist" was his stance. He does not think that there is racial injustice in the world. When I brought up George Floyd, he said that was probably wrong but it doesn't mean it was a racial issue. "White people can get killed while being arrested too."

The conversation didn't go well. Mostly because I was unprepared for it. At one point, my son said that I can't believe the things I see on social media (so he had a point there) that I should do my research. I asked him what research I should do. He said I should do internet research. Digging further, he said that I need to go to reputable sources, like pages ending in .gov or .org. Like how he would research a school paper.

I'm wanting to broach this subject with him again, better prepared. Any tips? How do you talk about inequality with a teen who isn't personally effected and does not see it in his everyday life? I feel it's important for him to have at least somewhat of an understanding about what is happening in the world right now. I don't want to raise a man who might later be part of the problem.

Reactions: haute okole

nvie

29 countries...
O.G.
Oct 30, 2006
Asia
It’s probably us who differentiate colours and not kids. My two boys are studying in an international school with many races and nationalities. They don’t even differentiate nationalities whether you are local or not, to them everyone is the same. During my younger days in school, living in a multiracial country, we do not see a difference.