Desperate times call for desperate measures?

Ladies and gents, I'm thinking of <gulp> officially ending my bag collecting days. Handbags are still my number one fashion obsession, and I love collecting them and using them, but more and more I feel irresponsible owning so many while living paycheck to paycheck (I'm a grad student on a small stipend). I'm just so tired of being broke every month, I'd love to build up a sizeable savings account to feel a little more safe. So I'm thinking of selling all but 2-3 of my bags on eBay to make that happen. Am I overreacting? Am I simply being rational about my financial situation? I LOVE my bags, especially the LVs :love: , but maybe at some point in my life I'll be able to own them without worrying that I'm shooting myself in the foot by spending money on them and not saving money for the future. Any advice from former/current grad or college students? Thanks :shame:

You're not overreacting. I actually have the means to collect more and don't. . . although, collecting them isn't my schtick so much.
There will ALWAYS be handbags. Do what you need to do, being responsible and saving is paramount.
Having a 'nest egg' is the right thing ;)

i'm a current grad student and i've stopped my spending on bags almost entirely.......i love bags with a passion and love obsessing about them, but at this point in my life i just can't justify spending all of my money on bags.......i have so many other necessities right now (work clothes, shoes, etc.) and i feel really guilty spending thousands on a bag i don't even use (i'm more of an admirer than a carrier :noggin:), and i also know that once i graduate i'll be making enough to buy whatever i want, so i just keep telling myself to hold off for 2 more years (or at least until next summer when i actually start getting paid :graucho:).....that is after i buy the damier speedy tho :upsidedown: