considering American Staffordshire Terrier adoption...advice please!

Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. #1 Jan 30, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2010
    Hi all, I am looking into adopting an American Staffordshire Terrier from a rescue shelter. However, I have a few questions before I fill out the application...I'm planning on calling the center as well, but I figured you guys could help me out, too!

I'm 21, which is the minimum adoption age. Will they be less likely to consider me since I am quite young?
    I am a full-time graduate student, but I usually have no more than one 3-hour class per day (sometimes at night). I also work part time, but usually no more than 15 hours/week. I am at my apartment the rest of the time. My apartment is one floor of a 3 story house; it is not tiny but it is not huge either (I would say an average size for an apartment). My landlord is really laid-back, so I don't think he would have a problem with me having a dog (he's already let us have a cat)...I'm planning on asking soon.

I live with 2 roommates and one of them has a cat in our apartment (also a rescue). She takes the cat to her parents' house every now and then, where they have a dog (a chocolate lab, I believe). My roommate says that the cat sometimes attacks the dog (nothing serious, just "get away from me" attacks), but they haven't really had time to bond since they live apart. The cat, Frankee, is no more than 8 pounds...I think she was starving when my roommate adopted her.