Confused - Classique, First, City

Damgaard

Aug 13, 2006
Hi everyone.

Pls. help! As a LV kind of gal, I'm a newbie when it comes to B bags. I looked at all the beautiful B bags at Selfrigdges here in London just yesterday :love: . But I'm so confused - what's the difference between First and Classique? Or are they the same? And is City just a larger version? I think, I'd like a black B bag, and I know the leather is distressed and everything, but to me, the black bags look a bit grey/faded?!

Any help is much appreciated :yes:

Hi! I know, it can be confusing :yes: The Classique is the First (and to add to the confusion, is also sometimes called Lariat). The City is bigger. This site is great for info:

atelier.naff: Balenciaga motorcycle style reference

Also, as far as color, go here:
atelier.naff: Balenciaga color swatches, by season

The only reason I can think the black bags you saw looked grey is because maybe they were particularly "veiny" which I think could cause a more grey appearance (i.e., the lightness of the veins throughout the bag creates a lighter appearance). If you do a board search you'll see some member's pictures of "veiny" and "smooth" bags-- some even made veiny bags smooth by twisting/conditioning them!

Hope that helps a little. Welcome!

I know that's

Welcome, damgaard! :welcome:
Yes, all new bags come with a set of extra tassels. Did you check in the interior pocket of the ones you were looking at? That is where they are mainly kept (along with the cards). If there isn't one, then you can contact the boutique/store where you purchased it from, and they should be able to provide you with a spare set.
I think a black city would make a perfect first Bbag. Good luck and let us know what you decide to get! :flowers:

Hi! Welcome to the Bbag world:nuts: Here is a pic. of my Black City and my magenta first/clasique(the same). You can see the size difference.:flowers:

Attachments

• DSC03710.JPG
    DSC03710.JPG
    60.1 KB · Views: 67