comments/questions/review re: darley (clutch/crossbody)

eliuuuu

Apr 4, 2017
Hi everyone! i'm fairly new to the mulberry brand (discovered last week actually) and I'm a little enamored by some of the styles. I know the popular style is the bayswater but I'm really loving the Darley (medium/large sizes specifically). I stopped by the NYC store and Lakeria was super helpful. However, I have not seen a whole long online about how the Darley has held up to use.

A couple of my concerns:
1- The inside is lined in napa leather - is that super scratch prone?
2- The chain is pretty thin, has anyone has trouble with the durability?
3- I've seen somewhere that the lock on these are smaller than they used to be - have these locks held up to wear? it seems like the lock is the primary holding point for the weight of the rest of the bag.
and finally:
3- if I were going for a max utility bag, should I go for the medium or the large? the strap on the large seems more versatile but i'm wondering if maybe that size is too big for weddings or things like that. (and if the lock is a concern, perhaps a smaller bag is recommended to avoid overweighting the bag)

I'd love any comments back or photos of you and your darley in play!

Same as the other comments. I got to see the small Darly and regular size during my last visit to the So Cal location. In person, the small looked SUPER small and the regular just right. However, I was focused on some discontinued Alexas they had. So my focus was very different and quite distracted. In looking back, I wish I would have spent some time checking out the Darlys.

I can tell you this much: I have never seen any Mulberries IRL. I was initially interested in the regular and large Darly. I saw the small and regular ones in person but didn't spend much time truly looking at them. I dismissed the small without even holding it because it was SO small. The regular Darly was beautiful though. They did not have a large in store.