Choking on saliva

1. Last night I woke up and i was literally Choking :s i jumped out of bed and my throat was totally blocked and no air was getting through, it was so scary!!! i didnt know what to do, i felt like i was going to die .... :crybaby:

any doctors advice? on what to do ? Any input would be appreciated.

Cheers,:shame:

2. Are you congested? Do you have any problems (allergies, cold, etc) that would prevent you from breathing smoothly? I am sorry, I am not a doctor. Try sleeping on your side, that may help? Can you call your family doctor and ask about it?

3. Was it definitley saliva - you can get a thing called sleep apneoa where your airway almost collapses in on itself, but usually this is only a problem for very overweight people because the weight of their chest presses down on the airway. Do you think you may have "swallowed" your tongue - sounds crazy but it does happen and your body would realise something was wrong and wake you up with a bang.

4. Whoa, that is scary!...definitely get it checked out by a doctor.:hrmm:

5. yikes definetly scary! This often happens to me when I have a cold...it's very scary!
    Sleep apnea is also a problem....and it's not always overweight people, it's a very serious condition that is easily treatable.
    I would definetly go see your doctor!

6. i'm not over weight, i dont have allergies or cold.. it did happend before thought. i'm sooooooo scard it will happen again and i wont be able to breath then what? ;0(
    but i will definitly call my doctor..

thank you for your feedback..

7. Sleep apnea does not just happen to overweight people. I have been treated for it for over a year now. You should see your doctor. They can do a sleep study on you and find out if you suffer from this.