Workplace Career Question..

Purseopolis

Nov 20, 2009
Ok ladies, I need your two cents on this one please.. Not sure where to post, since there is no Career sub-forum.. anyways, here goes.. I am about to change my career..I have been in the software/IT field for a few years and have realised at 31, I am NOT happy with what I do for a living.. I really want to be passionate about my work and not dread every minute I spend there.. I am looking at two fields that I would like to pursue.. #1) Fashion design--I have always wanted to be a fashion designer from as far back as I could remember, but never had the opportunity to pursue it.. #2) graphic design-- I have recently started to take an interest in it, since it is closely related to both design and IT (since I got my degree in computer science).. now here is the tricky question..
I would like to do Fashion design, since that is my first love, but is 31 too late to start in this field? I do not know how to sew (just started classes) and I am not sure if I would even get hired after going through school due to my age.. do you think it would work out? If I did get hired, I would have to go through that whole "intern" phase, again which kind of scares me.. since I am at that age, where I like to have "some" control of my work/life...
I feel, realistically speaking, graphic design would be a much easier route, just do the 2 years of school and then kind of get a "desk" job again..but I am not sure if I would be truly happy..
I have a two year old and if I pursued Fashion design, I would have to make a cross country move also..what would you do ladies? am so confused..:confused1:

if u can afford to take the risk, it's now or never.