Career Change (A complete 180)

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. Currently I work in the business development field of a an engineering firm. Everything is very corporate and structured and the field I specialize in doesn't require much creative thought. It's a competitive environment business-wise but there is no inspiration for creativity and while I had a good time learning the business/industry, I felt like I really needed creativity in order to enjoy my job long-term. Another factor was that I didn't particularly enjoy working for a large corporation and having to abide to someone's judgement of how much I can make or how much I am worth salary wise.

So I am quitting. It's a huge risk for me. I am leaving a career.

AND I am going to makeup artistry school.
    It's a private college/academy and well recognized. Very pricey so it's not something I take lightly.

I am scared - but at the same time very excited at the thought of being able to work in and industry I have great interest in and will never bore of. I've done my research a million times over and I am sure this is what I want to be doing.

In the future, I hope to run my own business as well because I do believe I am actually "good" at business...and I am very business-minded as a person.

Anyone else done a complete 180 in their career? If so, what did you end up doing and were you happy with it!? Any regrets?

2. Congratulations! That's very brave of you to leave what you know and go after your true career goals and passions. I wish you well.

3. Wow!! Good luck!!

4. Good for you!