Workplace Career advice requested (considering major career change)

jblended

Inhale. Exhale. Repeat.
Mar 17, 2019
I'm really hoping I can get some guidance as nobody IRL has been able to help me (lack of similar experience).
I have a degree that I'm dead proud of and 12 years of work experience (I would rather not disclose my job in case someone from my workplace frequents the forums). I am proud of all that I've accomplished but have learned some key things about myself as I've grown and had regular feedback from bosses/colleagues.

The good stuff:
1- I'm extremely organized and able to prioritize well.
2- I'm responsible and reliable.
3- People confide in me easily- I get all the office & personal news without asking for it. I've been told I'm trusted because I never engage in gossip and I listen well.
4- I'm adaptable and am unafraid of change in the workplace (people would panic when we got a new boss while I would just adapt to them and allow my work to speak for itself).
5- I'm friendly and can get along with people from all nationalities and backgrounds.

The bad stuff:
I will focus on my biggest flaw which is that I'm terrible at networking and I'm terrible at pitching. I'll stick to that point as it is what has led me to make a decision to switch careers.
Some people have that gift of the gab, can sell easily, can schmooze at dinners. I truly admire them but it's not me. It's not a part of my personality. I'm too direct for that. I don't look the part and I can't charm people with the intent to get them to buy my product one day.