Workplace career advice- any comment is appreciated

Care

Perhaps, Love?
Feb 25, 2006
This is my first year in the real world and it is time for my first corporate review :amazed: I am extremely nervous and I want to be prepared before I go into the meeting.

Do you think it's too early in the game to ask for a raise? I am kind of shy to bring up the matter but I completed certain certifications recommended for my position and I feel that I deserve a pat on the back, as well as a small pay raise. :lol: (for my purse fund)

Have you ever asked for a raise and how would you advise me to go about it? THANK YOU GUYS :cry:

Well, I'm still in college so I can't offer any life experience advice, but (I'm almost embarassed to say!) that I read an article in Cosmo about how women are often satisfied with positive remarks about their work- and often leave out asking for a raise, while men tend to be more bold. They expect you to ask if you want it. :smile:

buuut, like I said, I'm only a college student!

Dani said:
Well, I'm still in college so I can't offer any life experience advice, but (I'm almost embarassed to say!) that I read an article in Cosmo about how women are often satisfied with positive remarks about their work- and often leave out asking for a raise, while men tend to be more bold. They expect you to ask if you want it. :smile:

buuut, like I said, I'm only a college student!

I think I probably read a similar (if not the same) article in the past, and I think women earns averagely only 77% of what men earn in the same position and experience. I am determined not letting that happenning to me!! Like I said, I'm a newbie myself and I didn't even negotiate when I was presented with the job offer. I had to find out from my other colleagues that they get higher salary and more vacation days than I do. :evil: