Can someone PLEASE tell me WHAT THE DEAL IS ?????

mselika

Mar 28, 2006
I'm quite preplexed about this new wave of skull designs on women's fashion accessories. From scarfs from McQueen to Thomas Wylde bag's, I just don't understand. I'm a medical student and when I see skulls I think of decrepit cadavers I used to dissect in anatomy lab. I think of that unforgettably wretched smell, and the idea of death and demise. I'm I alone???!!! Forget the fact that I've been exposed to that, I'm in the minority. But don't you ladies think of death and morbidity when you see skull designs??? What's the attraction?? Is it because it's trendy? Or the because the expensive, reputable designers are using the image? Please give me your thoughts because I just don't get it. :sad:

ok, i have always loved skulls, but only paticular ones. i like smiling skulls like mcqueen and wylde. the ones that are angry looking or scary are not my scene. i always had a weird fasciantion with happy skulls, hmmmm, maybe a bit macambre thrown in with some rock and roll and rebellious classic attitude. i think skullls are timeless , a little too trendy noe, but that will pass and i will still be wearing mine forever....tetes de morte forever!

I don't see death and morbidity when I see them. . . usually! LOL!
These aren't bleeding and oozing w/ brain matter, now THAT would bother me!
It's just a punk or goth kind of thing IMO.

I don't really get the skull thing either, but I noticed Seven Jeans has a design with a skull on it too. It makes me think of motorcycle gangs and tatoos for some reason.
Maybe it's cause I had that whole cadaver anatomy class in Physical Therapy school, too.

Skulls are so rock and roll to me - I love them but only in a more feminine way ( my McQueen scarf is off white with pale pink skulls ). Like when I see Liv Tyler with her black/white McQueen one which started the craze, she looks amazing and rocks it (no pun intended).