books about grief

ilzabet

easily amused
Mar 11, 2006
as some have you might have read in the thread i started in the jewelry section, i lost my brother last week. it was sudden and tragic....we were very close and i don't really know how to sort out my feelings yet (not that anyone expects me to or anything).

have any of you read any books on death/loss/grieving that helped you?

i'm going to talk to someone once things settle down a little, but i'm a researcher at heart, i read everything i can get my hands on....i figure that's as good a place to start any.

thanks.

Regardless of your religion, I highly recommend books by Rabbi Harold Kushner, such as When Bad Things Happen to Good People and How Good Do We Have to Be? ... sorry for your loss.

I'm so sorry for your loss. "On Death and Dying" by Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross describes the different stages of grief. I hope it might help and condolences to your family.

I'm so sorry for your loss. I lost my dad a year ago, and I remember feeling overwhelmed by all the grief books out there. I ended up buying some that were specific to losing a parent, but they would not apply to you. My mom recently read "A Grief Observed" by CS Lewis. He wrote it after losing his wife. I haven't read it yet, but she said it helped. And I've heard that "On Death and Dying" is one of the best general grief books out there.

I'm so sorry about your brother. I can't imagine losing my sister. I realize Hospice wasn't involved, but they might have some recommendations. When my mother died, they gave me a pamphlet, Handbook for the Bereaved, and it was helpful in what to expect the first year after her death. It's very short; sounds like you're looking for books with depth, but this might be helpful. PM me if you would like a copy--I'd be glad to send one to you.

((((((((((((HUGS)))))))))))))))))