Biggish Lump On Dogs Stomach/Chest area

Apr 23, 2006
Today i picked up my 5 year old pomeranian and felt this biggish lump. Apparantly it has been there for some time according to my dad. I dont know why he didnt tell me earlier. I'm furious.

Anyway my dogs been eating normally. Drinking e.t.c. Hes been acting the way he usually does, but now i have felt this lump im very scared. I called the Vet Emergency number and he told me it could be anything but as my dogs eating and everything at the moment he should be ok, but i need to make an appointment to get it checked out. I have to wait till the 3rd which im very angry about. I'm going to be worrying all the time now.

When i press on the lump my dog doesnt react but i feel it kind of move. Its like a bubble. Sorry im not very good at explaining and describing it.

I'm so worried :sad::cry:

Cindi

My baby, Bellis
O.G.
Aug 8, 2006
PA USA
Sounds like a fatty cyst which is no biggie. I would get it checked out but I wouldn't worry too much about it. My dog had a couple of them for many years. The vet just told me to keep an eye on them and bring her in if they changed/grew. They never caused any trouble at all. It felt just like the "bubble' you are describing.

dorcast

O.G.
Jan 1, 2006
You should get it checked out, but don't make yourself crazy worrying. I think I understand what you are describing, and it does sound like a cyst. My dog gets them, and the vet aspirates them, and usually can tell immediately that it's harmless.

weekender2

Mar 13, 2007
my dog has had lots of these.
thank goodness they always turned out to be fatty cysts.
but no way to know that without a vet visit
they will just extract some cells with a syringe and test
them under the microscope. my dog never minds this procedure.
wishing you the best,
let us know...

Apr 23, 2006
my dog has had lots of these.
thank goodness they always turned out to be fatty cysts.
but no way to know that without a vet visit