Workplace Best Way to Up Your Fashion Game at Work

Midge S

I meant to do that.
Jan 14, 2012
So how would you go from dressing OK at work to taking it up a few notches?

Here's my story - I've been working full time for about 25 years, and have just been steadily moving up ladder (with some delays!) and have now reached a director-level position in a fortune 500 company. I've been lucky to have been in a business casual environment for the last 15 years, and am not moving departments. (HR Operations related)

Now that I am spending more time with "up and comers" and c-suite level coworkers I am realizing I need to polish up a little. However I am still working with many of the people I have for years, so I don't really want to do anything "shocking" or that seems like I am showing off. Just phase in some stuff.

My style up until now has always been maxi skirts, sweater sets, flats, makeup (but minimal) and a Coach bag.

So what should I start with? What says "polished" to you? I was thinking I should start with something as simple as starting to get regular manicures (I do my own, and not well ;) ) but what ideas do you have?

Manicures are easy and have immediate impact. Colored/styled hair has even better payoff, but req more investment.

Fashion wise, I'd go with neutral toned clothing. If skirt/pant suits are too much, sheath dresses are easy.

To finish things off, I'd go with small studs that can be worn daily, and simple designed necklaces to accessorize your sheath dress.

I always subscribe to the fact that you should dress where you want to go, not where you currently are. I am sensitive to ppl reacting to a change in dress, but anyone that takes your success and makes it about their issues has to be left behind. You should be proud of your success and relish in positivity from true supporters.

Reactions: lovecue2bags