Balenciaga's new leather

Irissy

Balenciaga's lover
O.G.
Oct 29, 2005
So I heard that Balenciaga changed their leather manufacturer and now the leather on the recent B-bags are not as high quality as the original B-bags? Does anyone know which season they have the "bad" leather so I can avoid buying the bag in that season? And how aweful is this leather? And whether Balenciaga will go back to the original leather? Thx.

i've heard that starting with F/W 05, the leather is not as good, but since i have little real-life Bbag experience, i'd wait for the opinion of FendiBagLady or CeeJay, they know their Balenciaga.

Yeah, I just got my medium Balenciaga Black Motorcycle bag from the NY boutique and I was surprised how different the leather is from prior seasons. Not happy with it at all. Wish I never bought it.

my pewter one, the leather is super soft, not very cracked, but this is the only one i have, so i have nothing to compare it to, and it is from fall 05...

I'm also concerned with the leather on the B-bag because I'm starting to suspect the little B-bag (from 2004) that I just got from Ashford.com is a fake. So I decided to return it tomorrow and apply that money towards a B-bag motorcycle or a paddy after the holiday. I'm never going to buy cheap stuff online, unless it's at the actual outlet store. :suspiciou

I believe that Balenciaga changed their leather manufacturer starting with the 2005 Spring/Summer line.

Prior to that, the leather on their bags was superb ... the leather wasn't shiny or waxy, it was soft and buttery. The distressing was done so that it just looked like the bag had been lovingly used, not 'worn out' at the edges or anything like that.

The leather on the new bags is stiffer, shinier and in some cases, has a waxy finish. The distressing is more of a crackling versus a subtle worn look.