Balenciaga Newbie - in search of answers - please help

jburgh

BV ~ Ferragamo ~ TODs
O.G.
Aug 17, 2007
Hello - I am brand new to the world of bbags and have a few questions regarding styles and background. I tried to do a little research, but just couldn't find a concise reference. Perhaps the answers by the seasoned bbag lovers can help other newbies, too.

A few days ago I visited the Barneys in Seattle, to look at a Miu Miu bag on hold for me. It was just too large. But something caught my eyes - the Balenciaga collection there. For such a small store, they have quite a selection.

On display were a collection of bags with large thimble sized studs, that were really cool! Some were satchels and others were shoulder or messenger style. None of these had the long laces from the zipper pulls. Then about 5 feet away, there were several satchels of varying sizes that had small aged brass studs. These had laces. This is where my questions begin...

1. Are the large studded bags a new or newer style?
2. Are the small studded bags an older or traditional style?
3. What exactly is a city bag? Is is an individual style of satchel, or a more broad category consisting of several shapes that share a look?
4. What is the motorcycle bag or bags? I see mention made of motorcycle "city" bags, how are they different?

Well, thanks in advance for your help, and tolerance. The Balenciaga website just does not have this information.

Go to www.diabro.net, click on Ladies (on the left) then on Balenciaga. Take a look at the different bags. Also, here in TPF, under Balenciaga you can search under Reference Library and shopping. You will find everything that you need.

Go to www.diabro.net, click on Ladies (on the left) then on Balenciaga. Take a look at the different bags. Also, here in TPF, under Balenciaga you can search under Reference Library and shopping. You will find everything that you need.