"Ashamed" of Mono?

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I'm not new to LV, but I am new to TPF (love it!) and fashion boards in general, so this may not be a new phenomenon--just something I'm noticing for the first time: are some ladies (and gentlemen) "ashamed" of or "embarrassed" by their LV bags, or, more specifically, by their monogram bags?

Maybe I've just spent too much time giggling at the pretension of Madison Avenue Spy; but I seem to see a lot of comments (at this subforum, other subforums, and other boards) about the "commeness" of LV generally and mono in particular, and shying away from certain bags for that reason.

I'm not referring to those who just don't like certain materials or patterns, because we are all certainly entitled to dislike a bag, even if we generally like the brand. I'm just referring to actually liking a bag, but feeling uncomfortable buying/carrying it because of the fear of being judged or snubbed due to some sort of reverse snobbery. Do any TPF'ers reject certain bags/categories of bags (LV or otherwise) if they seem "too common," even if they otherwise like the bag?

2. i personally prefer any other line except for Toile Monogram. it's just too loud for me as bag, i prefer the more sober Damier or the more non-descript leathers. i do buy the occassional SLG in Monogram, but mostly Special Editions (Groom, China Run).

it's just my personal preference of understated elegant materials over the overly loud monogram.