Anyone recognize this vintage wallet?

ck21

Believing in Magic
O.G.
Feb 27, 2006
I have a vintage (or just old!) LV wallet. I am new to LV, and wondering if anyone knows the name of this piece and the time frame in whichi t was produced.

My guess is that it was part of the French Company, as the leather looks like what was used for that line, but I'm not sure. I don't believe that there is a date code on this, or at least I can't find it.

There is the Lousi Vuitton stamp inside, but it's worn and hard to read. Underneath the Louis Vuitton, there is a word that looks like "Maheher", but I'm not sure.

Measurements are 7 inches long, 4 inches high.

I've attached pictures. Any ideas?

Attachments

• wallet1.jpg
    wallet1.jpg
    138.3 KB · Views: 83
  • wallet2.jpg
    wallet2.jpg
    115.6 KB · Views: 109
  • wallet3.jpg
    wallet3.jpg
    133.3 KB · Views: 64
  • wallet4.jpg
    wallet4.jpg
    118.3 KB · Views: 71
ck21 said:
Underneath the Louis Vuitton, there is a word that looks like "Maheher", but I'm not sure.
The word is most likely "Malletier". I don't know much about vintage LV wallets, but I am pretty sure about the word "Malletier".

ETA: "Malletier" means "trunk maker".

ValleyOppressed said:
The measurements are a little different, but I think it's is called the French Purse; as seen here on eluxury for $550
http://www.eluxury.com/browse/product_detail.jhtml?styleid=10234644&SectionID=

I looked at that and I think that they are close, but as you said, the size is different. Mine is about the length of a checkbook. Also, mine has a zippered compartment, and 6 credit card slots (the french purse has four).

Perhaps I have an earlier version of the French Purse...?

There is no opening to the right or to the lefto f the credit card slots.

Instead, there is a slot just above the credit card slots (so currency could essentially go behind the credit cards) and just above that slot is a zipper.