Any professors or Criminal Justice majors on the forum?

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I'm in the process of deciding what I'm going to do with my life (lol) - but seriously, I've been thinking a lot lately... about what I'm going to do when I finish school, what field I'm going to go into, etc.

I've always wanted to be a cop and someday become a detective because it seems adventurous and it's not the same ol' boring stuff every day. However, my family thinks it's too dangerous and I'm not the most active person so... that's probably never going to happen. I'm majoring in Criminal Justice but I can't really seem to think of any jobs that interests me besides Law Enforcement.

I also thought about being a professor and teaching Criminal Justice because it seems more realistic to me. What do I need to become a professor? What kind of experience is needed? What exams would I have to take? Grad school? Masters? PhD? I'm absolutely clueless. :shame:

If you're a Criminal Justice major, please tell me what your occupation is and any suggestions for jobs in the CRJ field would be greatly appreciated! :tup:

2. I am working towards a PhD in another field and the basic requirements to be a professor at the 4-year colleges is a PhD, 2 year colleges is a masters degree.

3. I am a cop!

I have always wanted to do it, but let everyone talk me out of it because of the danger. I joined the academy and finally did it once I turned 30. It was alot of hard work, especially with a husband and two kids at home.

If you really want to become a cop, then go for it...give it a try. This is your life and ultimately you have to make you happy.