any other teachers here?

simseema17

Homo sapien
Jul 14, 2007
not looking forward to go back to school?

this is only my 3rd year teaching, but i'm so nervous for next week...i'm telling myself things to keep my confidence up, but its hard....stuff like stick to your policies/rules, i know my stuff so relax...be fair, strict but try to be "mothering" like at times....i teach high school by the way.......any advice? :wondering

Pat on the back for sticking it out!!

I'm in my first year & our school is on a year-round schedule, so we started school at the beginning of august. Like you, I'm at the high school level.... but hoo-boy! This kids make me TIRED.

We're halfway thru the quarter & it's all i can do to keep up with correcting papers & updating grades....

I guess that's all I have to offer... lol! At least you're not me! :sweatdrop:

be consistent. for ex. if you have behavior issues, give 1 warning. after that, send the issue out. you are there to teach, not to haggle with a 15 year old for 30 minutes. let the students know ahead of time that that is your policy.

i actually write up a contract that my students and their parents sign at the beginning of the year regarding my classroom expectations (behavior and schoolwork). that way, even if the parents/kids have dif. pov, they will have acknowledged that these are my rules and this is what i expect of you. i count it as a quiz grade, too. (so kids can get an easy A to start out, and i get my forms back) i've not always needed them, but when i do, they are great. good luck!!!

My hat is off to all of you. I've taught music privately, and could have gotten my credential, but the thought of a room full of kids brings way too much panic into my brain. :sweatdrop::lol:

You all are amazing! :love:

I've taught music privately, and could have gotten my credential, but the thought of a room full of kids brings way too much panic into my brain.