Workplace Any Librarians?

Sep 13, 2006
Hi all,

So I've been thinking about going back to school to get my MLS but am not sure if I should take the plunge. I currently have a Bachelors in English but not doing anything with it. I thought I would come on here and see if there were any librarians who could possibly give me some insight into this line of work? I know it differs on what type of library it is, but any information would be helpful. I have never worked in a library before and as much as I *wish* you just sat there all day and read, I know that's definitely not the case :smile:

So like I said I'm not sure exactly what "question" I'm asking, but more just wanted to see if I could get any insight as to what being a librarian is all about and who would be best suited for this line of work(of course I have researched!)

Thank you! :biggrin:

Oct 25, 2008
I was a former Secondary English Teacher (10 years), when I choose Sam Houston State to get my librarian certification in (I have now been an Elementary Librarian for 13 years).

I didn't realize till about a year into the program, that had I wanted to work in a public library, I would have needed an accreditation program that was ALA (American Library Association) certified.

The following are ALA Certified in Texas (and are mostly all online progrms, even if you live in the area of Austin or Denton).

http://www.twu.edu/slis/master-library-science-degree.asp

http://www.unt.edu/gradmajors/glisc.htm

http://www.utexas.edu/student/registrar/catalogs/gradcat/ch4/lis/lis.ch.html

The librarians I work with either went to Sam Houston like me, TWU or North Texas...have yet to know any that went to UT.

Here is an article with lots of information, including the job description for both kinds, since I can't comment on working in a public library; working as a school librarian is much more like being a teacher.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Librarianship

Another with interesting commentary: