Acrylic Nails....

MissyBaby

Sep 19, 2006
I'm a musician. I play the piano and the mandolin and am a soon-to-be-waitress and a photographer, so I use my hands all the time....

My best friend plays the mandolin for a very well known gospel quaretet (at least well known around here) and she plays in her acrylics.

I've been wearing the glue on kind for a while now and can pretty much do anything in them. So I'm thinking I'm ready for Acrylics. I told my BF that the next time she went to get her nails done I was going with her to get a set put on.

So my question is....do I have anything to worry about? Do I need any warnings? I'll have to have them cut down really short because of the mandolin playing so length isn't a big issue....any advice would be appreciated.

On this forum acrylic haters out number acrylic lovers, so opinions are going to vary. "But to each their own." :tup:

I have them and love them. I've had them off and on for years with no ill effects.

As long as you go to a very nice shop that takes excellent care of their equipment and have basic personal cleaning practices then you will be COMPLETELY FINE!!!!!

I love acrylics but when I played the violin my maestro would throw a tizzy over my nails and I'd get in all kinds of trouble. So I dont know what to tell you. It's according to how well you play.

I played the piano almost my entire life and I was never able to have acrylics on only because i just couldnt play right...but if you can pull it off more power to you!! I actually love having them off and throw a fit when one breaks off..lol